Retail therapy and Mexican Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Two words: retail therapy.

I hate to admit it, but sometimes I just need to shop. Those who know me best are well aware that I have almost no ability to spend money. My splurges are usually $30 shoes or (more commonly) expensive foods at the grocery store (i.e. avocados, artichokes, dates, tahini paste, whole wheat flour).Seriously, I think about refinancing and taking out a loan whenever I want to make something with one of those ingredients. I won’t even get started on the price of figs or organic milk. Ka-ching. Ka-ching.

My saturday went something like this: I went to work. I got mad at work. I went shopping. And $10 later, I feel better. Plus, I am now the proud owner of a brand-new beautiful apron. I’ve been dreaming about making myself an apron for years, looking at endless patterns and quickly reminding myself of my previous failed sewing ventures. And when I say previous failed sewing ventures, I mean FAILED sewing ventures.

Side note: Let’s discuss how expensive avocados, artichokes, and dates can be… and how mad it makes us that eating Cheetohs and Oreo cookies is crazy affordable, but trying to eat healthy foods is insanely expensive… which brings me to one of my all time favorite things to rant about: preventative healthcare and healthy dietary choices versus fix-it-when-it’s-broken healthcare and cheap unhealthy food. I’ll stick to the lighthearted side of food blogging and simply say  that this is perhaps one of my greatest frustrations in life. It causes me to shake a gigantic $1 bottle of corn syrup laden soda and dropkick a 75 cent bag of over salted processed chips in the aisle of my local grocery store whenever I think about it. Unfortunately, I sometimes opt to buy the chips in lieu of attacking them. I know. I know. It’s just ssssuuuccchhh a good deal. Fail.

But, I digress. Here is my new apron. She is beautiful. Go buy one for yourself at Marshalls.

The Headless Chef...

Cheers to retail therapy.

Enough with the ranting and shopping – let’s get back to the food! These Mexican sweet potato skins were so fabulous I couldn’t wait to post the recipe. I originally had planned to make them again and take better pictures, but for now I don’t think I can keep this recipe from you, my dear beloved 4 readers. I altered the original recipe a bit – check out the version at Pinch of Yum if you want your sweet potato filling to have cream cheese. I bet that would be pretty delish too.

Mexican Sweet Potato Skins
Source: Pinch of Yum
Printable Recipe

3 sweet potatoes, scrubbed and dried (you’re going to eat the skin, so get it clean)
1 1/2C corn (frozen or fresh)
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1T olive oil (or butter or Earth Balance)
1/2 onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 – 1/2tsp cumin (to taste)
2-4 chipotles peppers in adobo sauce, diced finely
1/4C light sour cream
salt to taste
1/2C cilantro, chopped (about 1/2 of a bunch)
6T cheese (i.e. pepper jack, cheddar, colby — whatever you want)

Bake potatoes at 350/375 degrees for 45-60 minutes until tender.

While potatoes are baking, heat olive oil (or butter) over heat. Add diced onion and sauté until translucent, about 2-3 minutes. Add garlic and cumin. Sauté for additional 30 seconds until fragrant. Add frozen corn and black beans. Stir to combine and heat through, about 3-5 minutes. Turn off heat and allow to cool slightly.

Once potatoes are cooked, remove from oven and allow to cool for about 5-10 minutes (or until you can handle them). Cut potatoes in half and scrape the flesh out. Mix the sweet potato flesh with sour cream, chipotle peppers, and a dash of salt. Combine sweet potato filling with corn-bean mixture. Stir to combine. Add in fresh chopped cilantro. Taste and adjust seasonings.

Scoop filling into skins. Top each skin with 1T of cheese. Broil for 3-5 minutes, until cheese is melted.

Leave a Reply

