Buffalo Chickpeas with Cauliflower Mash

I’m addicted to a video on youtube. This one. 

I know. It may seem a bit cheesy (or a lot of cheesy), but it gets my blood pumping. It makes me feel like I could run a marathon an ultra-marathon, jump 12 feet in the air to the moon, or become the next president. Seriously, I watch it like 12 times a day.

Just now, I watched it before I vacuumed my apartment. Apparently, I needed a screaming JV football coach to inspire me to ‘rip the heart out of my enemy and leave it bleeding on the ground’ even when my enemy happens to be few modest-sized dust bunnies and hairballs in the corner of my bedroom.

But ‘defeat and retreat are words I do not know’ and ‘I will write my own praises…’ even if we’re talking about cleaning.

Another thing I can do (and do it like a champion) now that I know about this video?

Make roasted buffalo chickpeas and cauliflower mash…

right after I watch this video one more time.

Because who am I?

I am a champion. And a blogger. And a lover of food.

But mostly (after watching this video), I am a champion.

Buffalo Chickpeas with Cauliflower Mash
Source: The Hungry Birdie
Printable Recipe

1 15oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
olive oil
3-4T buffalo sauce
1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
1/2 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
salt, pepper
1 C milk (dairy or non-dairy)
scallions (~2 for garnish)

Preheat oven to 400. Place drained, rinsed chickpeas on a baking sheet that has been spritzed with no-stick spray. Roast chickpeas at 400 for 15-20 minutes. Once done roasting, add 3-4T of buffalo sauce and stir to coat.

While the chickpeas are roasting in the oven, bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Drop florets of cauliflower into boiling water and cook until fork tender, about 5 minutes. While cauliflower is boiling, sauté onion and garlic in a saucepan with a bit of olive oil until translucent. Strain fork-tender cauliflower. Add onion-garlic mixture to pot with drained cauliflower. Season with salt and pepper. Add 1C milk. Heat ingredients together until the majority of the milk is evaporated. Remove from heat. Mash cauliflower mixture until smooth (alternatively transfer to food processor and process until smooth).Taste and adjust salt and pepper.  Serve cauliflower mash with roasted buffalo chickpeas. Garnish with scallions. Oh yum.

Just a thought – substitute half of the milk with your favorite dairy-free ranch dressing? Then its like buffalo and ranch? I might be trying this next time. Let me know if you try it first.

Leave a Reply

