Where the Wild Things Are

I’m not technically a wild person, but I like to think I have a little bit of wild in me.

I like my shoes black, brown, and flat, except for my wild new zig-zag pair.

I like my hair long and straight, except for my wild super-short angled bob last year.

I like my dancing to be choreographed for me (i.e. YMCA), except for when I have a margarita in my system – then it’s just wild free-styling.

I usually like my rice brown, except for when I like it wild.

Don’t we all like a little wild in our lives from time to time?

Wild Rice Salad
Source: Adapted from Fat Girl Trapped in a Skinny Body 
Printable Recipe

For the Salad:
1 1/2C wild rice
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/3 cup chopped walnuts (or other nut of choice)
1/4 cup finely chopped green onions
4 tablespoons finely chopped celery (I used about 1 medium stalk chopped very finely)
2 tablespoons finely chopped red onion

For the dressing:
2 T red wine vinegar
1T lemon juice
1 clove garlic, minced
1tsp Dijon mustard
1tsp sugar
1/4C olive oil
1/2 tsp ground pepper

Cook rice according to package directions. I cheated and used one of those microwave-bags to make my wild rice. Allow rice to cool. Once cool, add dried cranberries, walnuts, green onion, celery and red onion. In a separate bowl, add red wine vinegar, lemon juice, garlic, dijon, and sugar. Whisk in olive oil. Taste and add pepper if desired. Pour dressing over rice mixture. Toss. Enjoy your salad! Refrigerate leftovers – I thought the salad was best after a few hours in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

