Pomegranate Margarita

I think you can learn a lot about someone by peering in their fridge. My fridge is a mess right now. Otherwise, I would post a picture. There is a jar of half-used tahini, an embarrassing amount of random asian condiments, a jar of pickles, sriracha, sriracha #2, a bag of clementines, chocolate soy milk, rancid spinach, green beans, 2 lemons, broccoli, scallions, carrots, and my trusty orange camelbak water bottle filled with water. Yes, I have one too many bottles of sriracha in my fridge.  Yes, I need to trash that spinach. It’s dying in my fridge. Yes, I do want a pickle right now.

So what does my fridge say about me? It says I need to stop buying condiments. It says that I love water as evidenced by the 4 different (reusable) water bottles that currently rotate through the fridge daily. My fridge says that I like vegetables and fruit, but I shop the produce section with the mindset of someone who has 16 teenage boys at home. This leaves me me no choice but to consume ridiculously gigantic salads several times a week in an attempt to reduce the garden that is living in my fridge. Salad for breakfast, lunch and dinner. My fridge also says it needs to be cleaned. Be quiet, fridge! Be quiet!

With rancid spinach as constant smelly evidence, I am reminded that life can really stink sometimes.  It stinks so bad sometimes that I just need a margarita (to go with my salad of course). My go-to flavors are strawberry or plain-jane lime, but I had a bottle of pomegranate juice sitting in my fridge this week. Who has a bottle of pomegranate juice sitting in their fridge? The same person who has 2 bottles of sriracha. That’s who.

Enter pomegranate margarita. Oh yum. Now, if only, I could remember to throw that spinach away.

Pomegranate Margarita 
Source: AllRecipes
Printable Recipe

1C tequila
3/4C triple sec
1/4C powdered sugar
4C ice
1C lime juice, fresh-squeezed
1C pomegranate juice

In a pitcher, combine triple sec, tequila, and powdered sugar. Stir to dissolve. Add ice, lime juice, and pomegranate juice. Stir to combine. Taste. Serve.

Leave a Reply

