Anti-Horrifying Chocolate Pudding (Vegan)

I forgot my camera when I visited Minnesota a few days ago. Yes, I used my computer camera to take this picture. Yes, I cropped it so you didn't have to see my post-run, not-chique hair mess. You are welcome. I left my smile because it shows just how delicious this recipe tastes and how happy it made me feel. A picture is worth a thousand words... or in this case 72 words...

I bet you are horrified by my picture.

It’s okay. I am too. It’s bothering me so much I am contemplating not posting this recipe until I get my beloved camera back, but I don’t want to hold this recipe hostage for that long.

I am horrified by a lot of things in life: the price of gas, the smell of my favorite running shoes that I just can’t get myself to throw away, the amount of time I can spend at a farmers market, my dad’s uncanny penchant for mid-calf white crew socks… the list goes on and on…

Don’t be horrified by the idea of putting tofu into a pudding recipe. Do be mild-to-moderately horrified by mid-calf socks.

I’d be lying if I said ‘you can’t tell there is tofu in here.’ I won’t lie. I can tell. You will be able to tell too. It didn’t stop me from eating a huge bowl of it and I don’t think it will stop you either. This is delicious, even if you can kinda/sorta tell that there is tofu in here. I suppose you could sneak the tofu in and see if you can fool your friends. On second thought, don’t secretly tofu your friends. That’s just mean.. and horrifying.

Horrifying dessert recipe? Not this one.

Chocolate Pudding (Vegan)
Inspired by: Rachel Ray Magazine via Pinterest
Printable Recipe

1/2 package silken tofu
1/2C semisweet chocolate chips (dairy-free*)
1/2tsp vanilla
pinch of salt
2tsp cocoa powder
1-2T agave

Melt chocolate chips using microwave or double-boiler. Add tofu, melted chocolate, vanilla, cocoa powder to food processor and blend. Taste and add agave to taste. I topped mine with a sprinkle of crushed graham crackers – but I can think of a million delicious toppings and/or things to dip. Refrigerate leftovers.

** dairy-free chocolate chips:  Trader Joes, Whole Foods, or Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet (gold package)

Leave a Reply

