Tofu Pad Thai

I went to the grocery store because I needed tofu so I could make tofu pad thai.

I got home and realized I didn’t have the mirin to make the sauce for the pad thai.

I walked to the grocery store down the block from my apartment, but the store didn’t have any mirin left.

I returned home. I googled ‘mirin alternatives.’ I wasn’t satisfied. I needed mirin.

I drove to 2 other grocery stores looking for mirin. Finally, I had the much needed ingredient.

I returned home to finally make the tofu pad thai…

only to realize I had forgotten to buy a red onion.

Back to the store I went – I walked to the store again.

You can not begin to imagine how frustrated I was when I returned home with the red onion only to realize I was nearly out of rice noodles. I had about 4 single noodles left (and why I saved 4 rice noodles in a box is a good topic for another day).

Was it worth all this grocery shopping?

Yes. Yes. Yes.

I would go to the moon and back for this dish.

Well, maybe not the moon, but I would go to the grocery store and back a few times.

Tofu Pad Thai
Source: Skinny Bitch Ultimate Everyday Cookbook
Printable Recipe

6oz rice noodles
1/4C honey (or agave)
3T mirin
3T ketchup
3T reduced sodium soy sauce
1 1/2T fresh squeezed lime juice
1T sriracha (or chili sauce of choice)
2T oil (coconut or alternative stir fry oil of choice)
1 block extra-firm tofu, drained and pressed
1/2 red onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 green onions, sliced
2C bean sprouts
1 carrot, shredded
fresh cilantro for garnish
peanuts for garnish
lime wedges for garnish

Cook noodles according to package directions. Set aside. In a bowl, whisk agave, miring, ketchup, soy sauce, lime juice, and sriracha.

Heat oil in wok (or large sauté pan). Add tofu and stir fry for about 3-4 minutes, until golden brown. Remove tofu. Add a splash more of oil if needed. Add red onion and cook for 30 seconds. Add garlic and cook for additional 30 seconds. Return tofu to the pan. Add cooked noodles and sauce. Stir fry unit heated through and everything is coated, about 30 seconds. Add scallions, sprouts, and carrot. Toss a few times to heat through and coat all ingredients with the sauce. Remove from heat, garnish with a sprinkle of cilantro/chopped peanuts/lime wedges, and serve.

Leave a Reply

