On Love and Spinach Artichoke Hummus

Hey you,

I just wanted to let you know how deeply I care about you.
It’s been 1 year , 1 month, and 21 days since you entered my life. It’s been a fantastic 1 year, 1 month, and 21 days.
I’ve been trying things I never thought I would try. I’ve been doing things I never thought possible.
You have changed my life for the better and I can’t imagine life without you.
Love is a strong word…            but I do really love you, dearest food processor.

XOXO,
And

Valentine’s Day has my heart singing love songs. Out of all the knives, zesters, fancy piping tools and anti-stick pans I have somehow acquired over the past few years, my favorite kitchen thingamajig is my food processor. I use it whenever possible, sometimes several times per day. I food process things that don’t necessarily need food processing simply for the sake of busting out my handy-dandy food processor.

One of my favorite uses for my food processor/current love interest is hummus. This is my latest recipe and it might just be my favorite to date. Served with homemade pita bread – it’s true love.
Happy Valentine’s Day!

Spinach & Artichoke Hummus
Printable Recipe
Adapted from: Rachael Ray

1 (15oz) can garbanzo beans, drained with liquid reserved
2T tahini
2T fresh-squeezed lemon juice ( about 1 medium lemon)
1 clove garlic
1 (10oz) block of frozen spinach, thawed with water squeezed out
1 (15oz) can artichokes, drained
salt, pepper to taste

In a food processor, combine garbanzo beans, tahini, lemon juice, garlic. Process until smooth. Add 2-3T of reserved garbanzo bean liquid until mixture is smooth. Add thawed spinach and artichokes. Pulse a few times until incorporated. Taste and add salt/pepper if desired. Canned artichokes can be rather salty so I only needed a pinch of salt. Serve with pita chips or veggies.

I haven’t tried it, but I think adding a handful of grated parmesan would be pretty delicious.

Note: I think a true-hummus aficionado may think this has too much spinach and artichoke to be called a hummus. Throw in an additional can of garbanzo beans, 2 more tablespoons of tahini, and a few more tablespoons of reserved garbanzo liquid if you want it more hummus-y.

Leave a Reply

