Homemade Graham Crackers

Confession: I have an insatiable appetite to make things that would be easier (and possibly cheaper) to buy. I can’t help myself. There is just something so satisfying about creating in the kitchen. If I could make water, I would. Then I would tell you it was super easy – all you need is 2 parts hydrogen and 1 part oxygen…

I love graham crackers and I’ve been wanting to make them for a long time. After much research, I came upon this recipe which sounded easy enough. This recipe did not disappoint. I made my crackers into cute little animal shapes for the kids… the kids I don’t have.

No. I didn’t make these for kids. I can’t lie. I too enjoy a good animal-shaped graham cracker. An adult can love her animal crackers and eat them too.

Graham Crackers
Source: Smitten Kitchen
Printable Recipe

1C + 1T AP flour
1/4C whole wheat flour
1/2C dark brown sugar, lightly packed
1/2tsp baking soda
1/2tsp kosher salt
3 1/2T unsalted butter (cut into small cubes and frozen)
3T honey (ie clover)
2 1/2T milk
1T vanilla extract

In a food processor, combine flour, brown sugar, baking soda, and salt. Pulse to incorporate. Add cold butter and pulse until mixture is coarse. In a small bowl, combine honey, milk, and vanilla. Add these wet ingredients to flour mixture. Pulse several times until mixture comes together. Form dough into a rectangular shape (use a bit of flour if it is too sticky). Wrap with saran wrap and place in the refrigerator for 2hrs (up to overnight).

Take chilled dough out of refrigerator. Work with about 1/2 of the dough at a time. Flour countertop surface. Roll dough out about 1/8inch thick. Cut into squares (or desired shape… like animals). Place cut crackers onto parchment lined baking sheets. Place baking sheet into the fridge for 45 minutes (alternatively, place them in the freezer for 15 minutes).

Bake chilled crackers at 350 for 15-25 minutes (time will vary depending on size). Rotate them halfway through. Crackers are done when they are lightly browned and firm to touch. The small animal crackers took about 15 minutes to cook through to my likeness.


Leave a Reply

