Hot Giardiniera Hummus

DSC_0392

I’ve been making this recipe for a while now and I really should have posted about it long, long ago. Unfortunately, I can’t spell the word ‘giardiniera.’  I also can’t spell the words ‘eczema’ or ‘ridiculous,’ but that’s a different (more funny, more itchy) story.

Giardeniera? Gardiniera? Giardineira? I repeatedly put a’s and i’s in all of the wrong places. My poor spellcheck was so baffled that I ended up with ‘gardener’ and ‘giardia’ and even ‘Ghiradelli’ as it tried to autocorrect my repeated spelling errors.

Chocolate hummus? I’m not convinced, señor spellcheck.

Certainly, you can share this with a gardener. Don’t add chocolate. Stay away from drinking river water near beaver dams altogether.

Did I lose you on that last one about beavers? Look up ‘giardia’ in your free time.  Eat this first.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Hot Giardiniera Hummus
Source: Me (inspired by THIS)
Printable Recipe

1 (14oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
3T tahini
1T lemon juice
1 clove garlic
3-5T hot giardiniera relish, to taste
salt to taste
3T-4T reserved chickpea liquid

In a food processor, pulse chickpeas until smooth. Note: removing the skins of chickpeas will give a much creamier result – I highly recommend this step although it is a bit time consuming.  Add tahini, garlic and pulse a few times until well incorporated. Add giardiniera, a dash of salt, and chickpea liquid. Pulse to combine. You may need to add more liquid for a creamier hummus. I would recommend starting with 3T of relish – add more if needed. Depending on the brand you purchase, you may need to add more or less to suit your personal taste. Garnish with a drizzle of olive oil and a spoonful of giardiniera relish. Wow. So good.

One thought on “Hot Giardiniera Hummus

Leave a Reply

