Tortellini Soup (for real men)

A few of my friends came over for dinner last night. I called home in a panic prior to their arrival. What do I feed them????

Initially, I was planning to  make soup because I happen to think its one of the best foods a human can consume. Unfortunately, my dad disagreed. Always honest padre shot down my grand soup plan by telling me that real men don’t eat soup for dinner.

No, And. Trust me. Guys don’t eat soup for dinner. They just don’t eat that kind of stuff.” he said bluntly.

This had (and still has) me all sorts of confused as my mom has been feeding my dad and 3 brothers soup for dinner since the beginning of time.

Real men do eat soup, dad. Real men eat this soup, that soup, and a million other types of soup.

By the way, I made dainty, little cucumber finger sandwiches and fruit salad. Deal with it, dad.

Tortellini Soup

Source: Kirkland’s Organic Chicken Broth Box (from Costco)
Printable Recipe

2T olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1tsp black pepper
1 (28oz) canned stewed tomatoes
1(10oz) block frozen spinach
2 quarts chicken stock (or vegetable if vegetarian)
1 lb tortellini (frozen or refrigerated)
parmesan cheese

Heat olive oil. Add garlic and cook until softened, about 1 minute.  Add pepper, tomatoes, frozen spinach, and broth. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 20 minutes. Add tortellini and cook for 5 minutes, or until tortellini is warmed through. Serve. Garnish with parmesan cheese.

Note: the tortellini don’t keep that well after being cooked in the soup. If you plan to eat this over a period of days, I would recommend just adding a few tortellini at at time. In other words, heat the tortellini in a separate bowl (only the amount you will be eating that night) and ‘garnish’ with the tortellini. This way you will avoid huge, overcooked tortellini in your soup on leftover soup night #2, #3, and #4. Nobody likes overcooked tortellini.

Leave a Reply

