Homemade Gnocchi

Ciao Bella!

I just threw my hands up in the air in an exaggerated fashion.

I am sorry for the stereotyping in advance.

Try as I might, I am not Italian. In fact, after researching my ancestry, I am quite literally everything European but Italian. German? Yes. Irish? Of course. Lithuanian? Yup. Italian? No way. What a disappointment!

This past sunday, I was an Italian wannabe and it was grand.  I didn’t speak Italian. I didn’t look Italian. I didn’t act Italian. But, I made Italian gnocchi like a true Italian. Then I ate Italian gnocchi like a true Italian, the kind of true Italian that eats Italian gnocchi like a ravenous Italian-food-eating monster.

These gnocchi were good. Or should I say delizioso? Ok. I’ll stop now.

At least  with a recipe this good, I can pretend to be Italian once in a while.

Homemade Gnocchi

Source: Handle the Heat
Printable Recipe

3 russet potatoes
pinch of nutmeg
salt, pepper to taste
1 egg
1-2C AP flour

Place potatoes in a large pot. Cover with water. Bring water to a boil. Cook until fork-tender, about 35-40 minutes. Drain and peel skin off each potato. Using a potato ricer, mash each potato. Alternatively, you can make mash the potatoes using a masher or food mill; however, your gnocchi will be more dense. Add a pinch of nutmeg, salt, and pepper. Taste potatoes to make sure they are seasoned properly – you will probably end up adding more salt and pepper than you think you need. Once seasoned, add egg and mix. Begin adding flour, about 1/4C at at time. The mixture has enough flour when it starts to form a ball of dough and is no longer sticky. I used about 1 1/4C flour. Section off a portion of dough. Roll doll into a 1-inch width strip of dough. Cut into 1/2inch pieces (or whatever size you prefer). Gently press a fork into each gnocchi to make the ridged design. At this point, you can place them on a sheet pan and  freeze . When solid, place in air-tight container and store for up to 2 months in the freezer.

To cook fresh gnocchi, drop into boiling pot of salted water. Cook for 4 minutes, until the gnocchi are floating. Drain off water and serve with sauce of choice.

To cook frozen gnocchi, drop frozen (not thawed) into boiling pot of salted water. Cook for 6 to 7 minutes. Drain off water. Serve with sauce of choice.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

