Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Biscotti

I went to the library this afternoon. For those of you who don’t know, it’s where all the cool, 20-somethings hang out these days.

I lied. Very few 20-somethings hang out at the library these days… or those days for that matter.

Case in point:
Librarian says to And in a rather loud tone considering the location, “I see you here ALLLLLL the time. It is just so wonderful that someone YOUR age comes to the library and checks out books.”

I can’t say I felt overwhelmingly proud of this moment in my life, but the accusation and questionable compliment is true. Indeed, I do frequent the library. What can I say? I like reading books almost as much as I like not having to buy the books I like to read.

What goes good with a library book? A cup of tea and a highly dippable cookie is ideal in my humble, well-read opinion. How about a chocolate biscotti cookie? Sounds classy, right? These were downright delicious – almost as delicious as this new book I am reading.

Hey Miss Librarian, I don’t know if you noticed, but I don’t have any late fines either.



Chocolate White Chip Biscotti (almost Vegan) 
Adapted from: loosely adapted from AllRecipes and Peas and Thank You
Printable Recipe 

1/2C whole wheat flour
1/2C AP flour
3T cocoa powder
1tsp baking powder
1/4tsp salt
2T vegan margarine (ie Earth Balance)
1/4C sugar
1/2tsp vanilla
1T ground flaxseed + 3T warm water
2-3T non-dairy milk (coconut, almond, or soy)
1/4C white chocolate chips***

Preheat oven to 350. Mix wheat flour, AP flour, baking powder, salt, cocoa powder in a bowl. Cut margarine in using a fork until mixture is crumbly.
In a separate bowl, combine flaxseed ‘egg’ (flaxseed and water combined in a small bowl and set aside for 2 minutes until it starts to thicken), milk, vanilla, sugar.
Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Fold in chips.
Form/shape dough into a 9×2 inch log and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
Bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool for about 15 minutes. Using a sharp or serrated knife cut diagonally into 1/2inch thick pieces. Place back on baking sheet.
Bake at 350 for 10 minutes. Flip and cook for additional 10 minutes. Allow to cool. Store in an airtight container – if you have any left to store…

***I realize white chocolate chips are not usually vegan. You can buy vegan dairy-free white chips on the internet. Alternatively, use chocolate chips for a chocolate chocolate chip biscotti. Too much chocolate? How about almonds or dried fruit? Whatever you add, I’m sure it will be fab-u-lous.

Leave a Reply

