Mexican Tomato-Bean Soup with Corn Dumplings

I’m not feeling very creative today. I just can’t think of anything to type. My brain is devoid of any meaningful thoughts which is fine since it’s Sunday morning. I’ve been sitting at my computer for a good hour, just staring at the keyboard. I drank 2 cups of coffee. Then I drank 2 more cups of coffee. I ate 2 breakfasts-  the first better than the second if you care to know. I watched a thousand videos on youtube. Still, not one interesting tidbit has entered my brain. Please accept my sincerest of apologies, but there will be no creative or not-creative (you decide) paragraph prior to this recipe. 
Mmmmmmm. This was good. I think you (points to you) should try it. 



Mexican Tomato-Bean Soup with Corn Dumplings 
Source: Cooking Light Way to Cook Vegetarian Cookbook
Printable Recipe

1T olive oil
1 onion, chopped (~1C)
1T chili powder
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
2.5C vegetable broth
1C water
salt, pepper
1/2tsp dried oregano
1 (15oz) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 (14oz) can no-salt added diced tomatoes
1/3C masa harina (or cornmeal)
1/8tsp salt
3T hot water
1tsp olive oil
toppings: fresh cilantro, fresh lime juice, queso fresco or cheddar cheese

In a large soup pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Sauté onion for about 3 minutes, until translucent. Add chili powder and garlic and sauté for additional 30 seconds until fragrant. Add broth, water, oregano, salt, pepper, chickpeas, and tomatoes (with juices). Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook for about 20 to 30 minutes.

For the dumplings, combine masa harina and salt in bowl. Add water and oil. Stir until dough comes together – it’s a dry dough. Divide dough into 24 pieces. Roll each into a small ball. Add dumplings to soup pot. Cook uncovered for 3 minutes, until they float. Note- my dumplings didn’t hold together all that well – but the masa harina thickened the soup and added a nice flavor. Just before serving, add cilantro and lime juice. After ladling into bowls, top with queso if desired.

Leave a Reply

