Blackened Tofu

I have an overwhelming tendency to order variations of the same 3 or 4 dishes whenever I go out to eat. I could be in a restaurant known for the world’s best (insert item), but I will see a word/flavor/taste that catches my eye and it’s game over for me.

Like the time I went to San Francisco and didn’t eat clam chowder at a restaurant known for amazing clam chowder.

Or the time, I ordered a muffin at a New York city bagel shop.

Or when I ordered a cup of tea at a place that supposedly makes ‘the cities best lattes.’

I think you get the idea…

It’s not that I am necessarily a picky eater. In fact, I love trying new things. I never intend to choose the same items over and over… and over and over… and over. I just really like certain flavors.

One of those words that make me swoon for completely unclear reasons is ‘blackened.’

Obviously I had to try blackening some tofu. You can bet I would order this if I saw it on a menu, even if we were at a steakhouse, a taco truck, or a French bakery.

Blackened Tofu
Source: Me with recommendations from FoodNetwork
Printable Recipe

1 16oz block extra-firm tofu, drained and pressed
1T Italian seasoning
1tsp cracked pepper
2T paprika
1T salt
1/2 – 1 1/2T cayenne pepper (more or less depending on how hot you want it)
1tsp onion powder
1tsp garlic powder

Cut tofu into 1/4inch slices. In a small bowl, combine all spices. Warning- this is pretty spicy. You may need to cut back on the cayenne pepper if you don’t want it too spicy. You can certainly add additional paprika and omit more of the cayenne pepper to suit your personal taste. Rub/Sprinkle/Dredge each tofu slice in spice mixture. Place tofu pieces onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Broil for about 4-5 minutes. Flip and broil for additional 4 minutes. Serve with favorite dipping sauce of choice – I used honey-mustard sauce.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

