Homemade BBQ Sauce

My vacuum cleaner sucks. Wait, actually it doesn’t suck. I think you catch my drift. I have no business trying to fix a vacuum cleaner; nevertheless, I tried and subsequently failed. I unscrewed things and pulled things and pushed things and cleaned things and low and behold my vacuum cleaner still sucked… or didn’t suck. Now I am left with a vacuum cleaner that sucks (or doesn’t), 2 extra screws which I keep telling myself aren’t indicative of a botched vacuum cleaner fix-it session, and a pile of vacuum cleaner dust on the carpet in my living room.

I can’t fix vacuum cleaners, but I can make BBQ sauce with ingredients from my refrigerator. I’m not from the South so I’m pretty sure that a barbecue professional would be offended by this recipe; however, it tasted inspired when I slathered it on a pizza crust with some other choice ingredients (recipe to follow in the coming days).

Long story short: I can’t fix sucky vacuum cleaners that don’t suck. I can make BBQ sauce. Pick your battles, people. Pick your battles.



Homemade BBQ Sauce
Source: My Muffin Thursdays 
Printable Recipe

2C ketchup
1C water
1/2C apple cider vinegar
1/2C brown sugar
1T worcestershire sauce
1/2T black pepper
1/2T onion powder
1/2T mustard powder
1T lemon juice
2tsp paprika
optional: 1/8 to 1/4tsp cayenne
optional: few dashes of liquid smoke

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Let mixture simmer for 30 to 40 minutes, stirring occasionally. Taste about halfway through the cooking and adjust seasonings if needed. Store in the refrigerator for no longer than one week.

Note: If making vegan/vegetarian, be sure the Worcestershire sauce is anchovy-free (ex: Annie’s Natural Vegan Worcestershire Sauce)

Leave a Reply

