Stupid Simple and Simple Stupid Black Bean Soup

I had a heart attack today when I realized I had neglected to share this recipe with you. I’ve been making it for 3 years, enjoying it each and every time I make it. How did I not tell you about it? How? How? How?

This recipe puts the stupid in stupid simple and the simple in simple stupid. It’s painstakingly stupid simple… if that makes sense. It’s so stupid simple that I can make it with my eyes closed. It’s so stupid simple that I could make it while watching TV, doing work, cleaning, folding laundry, reading a novel, and talking to my mom on my cellphone. It’s so simple stupid that I could make it while wrestling an alligator. Bonus: It’s delicious too, which is good because I imagine wanting something tasty after fighting off an alligator.



Black Bean Soup
Source: AllRecipes
Printable Recipe

2 cans (15oz) black beans, drained and rinsed
1C salsa (jarred or fresh… whichever you prefer)
1.5C to 2C vegetable broth
1 tsp cumin
salt, pepper (if needed)
toppings: cheese, tortilla chips, sour cream, green onions, etc

Get ready for this one:  Pour black beans, salsa, vegetable broth and cumin in food processor. Pulse several times until mixture is smooth  (pulse less if you desire a chunky soup). Pour mixture into medium-sized pot and bring to a simmer. Once soup is heated through, taste and adjust seasonings if needed. Serve with favorite toppings.

This one is a keeper – perfect for quick weeknight meals! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

