Almond Sugar Cookies

So I am a wee-bit proud of these cookies because I never have had the patience to successfully and so precisely frost cookies. I even used a piping bag, people! Can you believe this? Look at them! So many details for someone who admittedly doesn’t believe in spending hours piping little red ornament dots onto tree-shaped cookies.

What happened?

Snow happened.

I didn’t feel like leaving my not-so-posh apartment to venture out into the cold weather, which left me no choice but to frost the heck out of these cookies. And frost the heck out of them, I did.

This is definitely my favorite sugar cookie recipe because it tastes good. I repeat, this sugar cookie tastes good. In my non-professional opinion, sugar cookies are very pretty, but almost universally bland. These cookies are less bland and even more pretty. Double win!

5 colors?!?!? Someone REALLY was avoiding the weather…
Almond Sugar Cookies 

1 1/4C butter, room temperature
1 3/4C powdered sugar
2 oz almond paste ( or 3T almond paste)
1 egg
1/4C milk (2% milk recommended – I used skim milk with success)
1tsp vanilla extract
4C AP flour
1/2tsp salt

Cream sugar and butter in a large bowl until fluffy. Beat in almond paste. Add egg, milk, and vanilla.
In a different bowl, combine flour and salt. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients until well combined.
Cover mixture and refrigerate for a minimum of 1 hour (up to 1 day).
Once dough is chilled, preheat oven to 375
Roll dough to 1/4inch on a lightly floured surface. Using a cookie cutter, cut your cookies. Place 1 inch apart onto un-greased baking sheets. Bake at 375 for 7-8 minutes (less or more time depending on cookie cutter size). Let sit on cookie sheet for 1-2 minutes before moving to wire rack to cool.

For the icing:
2C powdered sugar
2 1/2T evaporated milk (plus extra depending on desired thick/thin-ness)
food color

In a bowl, whisk together powdered sugar and milk. Add food coloring of choice. For the base of each cookie, I thinned the icing with a few drops extra of milk. I thickened the icing with powdered sugar for the areas that I piped. No real recipe – just trial and error – and more error followed by more trial. Allow icing to dry. Store in the refrigerator to keep them fresh.

I know everyone has their own tried and true sugar cookie recipe, but I promise this one is good too!

One thought on “Almond Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

