Lemon-Garlic, Garbanzo Bean, and Quinoa Salad

I bought a Mac a few months ago. No, not the edible kind. Although, I probably did buy that kind of Mac a few months ago also. I won’t say I am a complete Apple-a-holic just yet, but I will admit that my life was made a little brighter thanks to my shiny, beautiful Macbook Pro.

Also, I can do things like this:

Special thanks to my brother for participating.

Did you care for that random tidbit about my beautiful computer? Did you think it would relate to the recipe of the day? If you answered yes and then no, you would be correct. I just wanted to let you know that I have a nice laptop. Also, I made this salad. Like my laptop, it’s delicious, but in a different sort of way.

Special thanks to my high school English teacher for stressing the importance of writing cohesive papers and articles.

Special(er) thanks to me for taking all those intense high school English classes and then writing a story about a computer and a quinoa salad… and doing away with any thesis, topic sentence or notion of grammar for that matter.

Special(ist) thanks to this awesome computer for auto-correcting my original spelling of grammar… which was g-r-a-m-m-e-r. My English-obsessed brother would have been all over me on that one.

Without much further ado, I present you with a quinoa salad recipe and a picture. Yum.

Lemon-Garlic, Garbanzo Bean, and Quinoa Salad
Source: AllRecipes
Printable Recipe

1C water
1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
1 15oz can Garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
3/4C broccoli, chopped roughly and blanched for 1-2 minutes in boiling water
3T olive oil
1T freshly squeezed lemon juice
2tsp coarse mustard
1 clove garlic, minced
1tsp dried tarragon
salt, pepper

Bring 1C water and uncooked quinoa to a boil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Reduce to a simmer. Allow to cook until the water has evaporated, about 15 minutes. If you want more flavor, you can replace water with vegetable broth or chicken broth.

In a bowl, combine, broccoli, cooked quinoa, garbanzo beans. In a small separate bowl, whisk together olive oil, lemon juice, mustard, garlic, tarragon, salt and pepper. Taste and adjust seasonings. Add dressing to quinoa mixture. Stir to combine. Serve. This salad is great slightly warm or cold from the fridge.

Leave a Reply

