Squash with the President

I will admit that I forgot I was going to blog about this recipe when I made it. I took a picture despite the obvious lack of tasteful plating. This is called real-home cooking and folks, it ain’t always pretty. 


If I was to share thanksgiving dinner with the president and his family, I think I would bring this dish. Warning: Please don’t think this a political statement. I’m just imagining dinner with the president. 

I’m pretty sure at dinner I would speak my mind, but try to stay off the political talk. After all, this is a holiday and I have a feeling the prez (can I call him that?) would like to talk about non-international issues for a few minutes. I would probably tell the president that I hate that he used to be a smoker because I hate the smell of smoke. I would tell him that his 2004 DNC speech was inspiring to me and I have a copy saved so I can read it from time to time.  I might tell the first lady that I didn’t really care for that one dress she wore that one time, but darn am I envious of her killer biceps. I probably would mention that I love Bo because he is a very cute dog and I just love cute dogs; however, I heard it’s better to give your dog a two syllable name because commands (i.e. sit, stay, go, no, come) are one syllable words. I might even sip sparkling cider with the first girls. I would type there names but I can’t remember how to spell them. It would be a grand time… at least in my mind. 


Want to make a presidential side dish? Try this!

Acorn Squash with Cranberries

2 acorn squash, halved with seeds removed 
1/2c fresh cranberries
1/3c brown sugar
2T melted butter (or vegan margarine) 
1/2tsp cinnamon 

In a small bowl, combine cranberries, brown sugar, melted butter, and cinnamon.
Spoon mixture evenly among 4 squash halves.
Place halves in shallow baking dish and surround with 1/2inch water.
Bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes.
Serve! 

Leave a Reply

