Tempeh Sloppy Joes

… I made that bun by the way. I’ll tell you about it sometime… 



I had a bad day. It was so bad I found myself listening to Elton John’s “I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues” on repeat when I finally got home. 


Oh geez. That’s bad.


I won’t bother you with the horrendous details, but lets just say it started with missing keys (which I found in the fridge after 20 minutes of searching) and finished with me wanting to punch someone, anyone, or (frankly) anything. I hate those days.


Did you have a bad day? This recipe might help.


Oh and if you are looking for your keys, be sure to check the fridge. Some people leave them there…


Tempeh Sloppy Joes
Source: One Green Planet 
Printable Recipe 

2T olive oil 
1 small onion, diced
1 jalapeño, seeded and diced finely 
1/2 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
3 cloves garlic, minced 
1/2tsp cumin 
1/2tsp cayenne
1/2tsp dried oregano
2 packages tempeh, crumbled     
1T Worcestershire sauce
1T brown sugar
1 1/4C no-salt added tomato sauce
1/3C ketchup 
salt, pepper 
6-8 hamburger buns

In a pan, heat olive oil. Add onion, jalapeño, and red bell pepper. Saute until soft, about 3-4 minutes. Add garlic, cumin, cayenne, oregano. Cook for additional 1-2 minutes. Add crumbled tempeh. Cook until warmed through. Add Worcestershire sauce and brown sugar. Stir to combine. Add tomato sauce and ketchup. Heat until mixture is bubbling and warmed through. Taste and adjust seasonings. Add a pinch of salt and pepper if needed. Serve on hamburger buns. Garnish with cheese, pickles, or coleslaw if desired. 

Note: Not all Worcestershire sauce is vegan. Many brands contain anchovies. If cooking for a vegan, be sure to buy a vegan variety or omit completely. 
Leave a Reply

