Tall Folks, Thin Mints

Please note that guy in the background. That would be my padre. He has a habit of being the “random guy in the background” in a lot of my photos.  He is also taller than me. 

It’s official! I have now been surpassed in the family height competition by not 1 but 2 brothers. See above photo for proof of brother #2’s latest and greatest accomplishment. Just a few short months ago this bro was most certainly shorter than me.

What happened?

I blame it on 2 things:

1. Male genes –  I’ve been singing the “Anything you can do, I can do better” song in my head since the Mia Hamm/Michael Jordan commercial came out in 1997; however, it appears as though I can’t grow better. Darn. 

2.  Anti-voluminous hair – My hair is stick straight. It doesn’t curl. It doesn’t tease. It doesn’t perm. It doesn’t respond well to volume-infusing gels, mousses, sprays, or spritzes. If ever there was a time to amp up the volume (and I mean literally), it would be now. Unfortunately, my hair disagrees. It continues to lay lifelessly, statically-charged, and clinging to my head. Darn again. 

With 3 brothers to compete against, maybe I can’t win the height contest or the 1 mile track PR or the underwater breath-holding contest or the watch-a-scary-movie-and-don’t-get-scared contest or the push-up contest, but thats okay.  Brothers are the best, even the taller variety.

To celebrate 2/3 of my brothers being taller, I made these vegan thin mints. They were a huge hit with tall, taller, and the tallest of folks. Yum.  And yes, they really do taste like thin mints!



Thin Mints
Source: Chef Chloe
Printable Recipe

1 1/4C AP flour
1C sugar
1/2C cocoa powder
1/4tsp salt
1/4tsp baking soda
3/4C vegan margarine (ex: Earth Balance)
3T soy, almond, or rice milk
1tsp vanilla extract
1/2tsp peppermint extract

Chocolate Coating:
2C non-dairy chocolate chips (ex: ghirardelli semi-sweet or trader joe’s chocolate chips)
1T vegan margarine
1/2tsp peppermint extract

In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, cocoa, salt, and baking soda. Pulse in a food processor until combined. Add margarine, milk, vanilla, and peppermint. Pulse until the mixture starts to come together. Refrigerate mixture for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350. Line baking tray with parchment paper. Drop mixture by heaping teaspoonful onto baking sheet. The original recipe states to “roll” the dough and then flatten to 1/4inch thick, but my mixture was too wet to effectively roll them. If you too have this problem, simply drop teaspoonfuls onto lined baking sheet and flatten/shape them slightly to achieve uniform cookies. Don’t panic- it’s not a beauty competition! Leave about 2 inches between cookies. Bake for 12-14 minutes. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

When cookies are cool- it’s time to dip! In a microwave-safe dish, melt chocolate chips by heating in 20-30 second intervals, stirring occasionally to avoid burning. Stir in vegan margarine and peppermint extract. Dip cooled cookies in chocolate coating. Set coated-cookies on a baking sheet, lined with waxed paper to cool. Transfer to refrigerator to set the chocolate coating.

Eat these! Store any leftovers in the refrigerator in an air-tight container.

We didn’t tell anyone they were vegan – and they pleased vegans and non-vegans. Everyone likes a mint-chocolate cookie!

Note: The original recipe states that this makes about 65 cookies. I only managed to make about 50 with this recipe. Also, Chef Chloe states to double the chocolate coating recipe if you plan to coat all of the cookies. I successfully coated all of my cookies without doubling the coating recipe.

Leave a Reply

