Roasted Red Pepper Hummus



I’m sitting in a starbucks right now, sipping hot herbal Tazo Passion tea, and blahgging with a friend – a sister-from-another-mother-bff-once-in-a-lifetime friend. We like blahgging together almost as much as we like running, shopping, laughing, talking on the phone, and arguing about the ideal toilet paper brand.

It might be the passion tea, but I’m feeling passionate right now. Passionate about life. Passionate about food. Passionate about the idea of running something farther than 13.1 miles in the next year. Passionate about being passionate. Darn, this is good tea.

I don’t really remember the first time I tasted hummus, but I think my life was forever changed. I absolutely love hummus and I am semi-confident you can slather it on just about anything. Lately, I’ve been making my own because hummus is quite costly at the grocery store. I know that buying a jar of tahini is quite an investment, but keep in mind you only need a few tablespoons each time you make a batch.

Need some Pita to go with your hummus? Me too.


Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
Adapted from: AllRecipes
Printable Recipe

1 (15oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 clove garlic
2T olive oil
1/3C tahini paste
2T fresh lemon juice
1/2C roasted red peppers
pepper, salt

In a food processor or blender, combine all ingredients. Pulse/Process/Blend until nice and smooth. Serve with your favorite veggies and pita chips. Store in the refrigerator – in my opinion, it’s better on day two!

For a creamier hummus, you can peel the garbanzo beans. Simply pinch the beans one-by-one between your fingers. The skin will pop off. It is a bit time consuming, but it does make a better hummus in my opinion.

Yum Hummus! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

