Spinach Feta Triangles

Someday I am going to get an apartment with better lighting. Until then, this is me trying really hard.  This looks prettier in real life. I promise. And yes, that shadow in the corner of the picture is yours truly. Or a ghost. You decide.

I don’t blog… I blahg. Albeit a less-feminine, more barbaric form of internet recipe/story sharing correspondence, I always find myself saying ‘blaaaahhggg’ instead of ‘blog.’ Maybe its my midwestern accent or maybe my great-great-grandparents were half-pirate – I can’t really explain it. I just figured you (my loyal and perhaps solo reader) should know that this isn’t a blog … its a ‘blahg.’

Now for the food: These spinach feta triangles are on my all-time favorite list. My mom and I have been making them since I was in high school. I guess they are probably more of an appetizer, but I would argue a strong case for simply turning this into a not-that-healthy dinner. Also, it turns out I can’t describe how to fold a flag using words. I had the privilege of being chosen to take down and put up the flag each morning repeatedly during my elementary school days, so the skill (at this point in my life) is pretty natural. If you didn’t have this honor as a young child, I would recommend youtube or a google search. I am confident there is an about.com article that can explain the not-that-difficult process to you. I apologize in advance for my sorry attempt to explain it in this recipe.

Updated photo 2013 — better lighting 🙂

FotoFlexer_Photo

Spinach Feta Triangles
Source: FoodNetwork.com
Printable Recipe 

8-12 sheets phyllo
1T butter
1 small onion, chopped finely
1 clove garlic, minced
1 package frozen, chopped spinach – thawed and drained
1 egg, lightly beaten
1C crumbled feta
salt, pepper
4T melted butter
Marinara sauce (for dipping)

In a small sauté pan, melt butter. Saute onions until translucent. Add garlic and sauté for additional 1-2 minutes. Turn off the heat and transfer to a bowl. Allow to cool for a few minutes.

Once the mixture is cool, add egg, frozen/drained spinach, and feta. Add a dash of pepper and perhaps a sprinkle of salt. Keep in mind – feta is pretty salty on its own. Stir to combine.

Lay one layer of phyllo dough out.  Brush with butter. Add another layer of phyllo dough. Brush with butter. Add a 3rd layer of dough and cut into 3 evenly sized rectangular pieces. Place 1-2T of feta mixture into the lower corner of one of the pieces. Fold it over, like a flag, i.e. ‘folding the lower corner up to form a triangle and continuing to fold up in the shape of a triangle.’ Repeat with remaining mixture, until you have no more feta mixture and/or dough and/or patience. Place triangles on a baking sheet and bake at 375 for about 15 minutes.

Serve with marinara. Yum!

Leave a Reply

