Slow-Cooker Oatmeal

I might be an oatmeal addict. I love oatmeal for breakfast. I love oatmeal for lunch. I love oatmeal on a cold morning and I even love oatmeal on a hot summer day. I like old-fashioned and quick-cooking and steel-cut. I like oatmeal baked. I like oatmeal plain. I like oatmeal jazzed up with all sorts of flavors and add-ins. Now, I can say I even like oatmeal in the crock-pot. 


Cinnamon Apple Slow-Cooker Steel-Cut Oatmeal 
Source: The Yummy Life 

2 granny-smith apples, peeled and chopped
1.5C water
1.5C milk
1tsp cinnamon
1C steel-cut oatmeal
1T butter (can omit if desired)
2T brown sugar
1/4tsp salt (a dash if you don’t feel like measuring)
1T ground flaxseed

Spray crock-pot lightly with no-stick spray. I used a 3qt crock-pot for this recipe and had plenty of space. This is the tricky part: dump all the ingredients into the crock-pot. Give it a stir or two. Set it to low and let is cook for 6-7hrs. You could make this before you go to bed and wake up to a bowl of oatmeal in the morning – bueno! Garnish with walnuts if you desire.

Leave a Reply

