Thai Chicken Tacos

If I was to create a list of must-have items for the pantry/fridge, Sriracha sauce would definitely be on that list. You know about it, right? Red bottle, green top, rooster picture on the side?

What wouldn’t be on that list? Candied ginger, pickled herring, and canned corn for starters…

I should mention to you now that I don’t get paid to talk about Sriracha. I just love it, like real love – love it. Deep love. It’s so versatile, not to mention delicious. Did I mention I love this stuff? I have yet to see it used it in a dessert, but I think I might just try that next. Sriracha ice cream? Sriracha hot chocolate? Sriracha bars? I’ll keep thinking about this.


Thai Chicken Tacos 
Source: Better Homes and Gardens June 2011

Juice of 1 lime
1lb skinless/boneless chicken breasts/tenders, cut into 1/2inch pieces
1/4C chopped fresh cilantro
1 large shallot, copped finely
3 cloves garlic, minced
1T fish sauce
1T reduced-sodium soy sauce
1/2 – 1tsp crushed red pepper
1/2 -1tsp hot chili sauce (i.e. Sriracha)
2T olive oil
Tortilla Shells
1 recipe Cabbage Slaw (see below)

In a bowl, combine the lime juice, shallot, cilantro, garlic, soy sauce, fish sauce, chili sauce, and red pepper.  Note: I used 1T of hot chili sauce because I like food spicy. Feel free to increase/decrease the chili sauce to your liking. Add chicken pieces to sauce and stir to combine. Cover and refrigerate for a minimum of 1 hour (I let mine marinate for 6 hours).

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Cook chicken until it is cooked thoroughly. To serve, place chicken onto warmed tortilla. Top with cabbage slaw.

Cabbage Slaw 
Source: Better Homes and Gardens June 2011

2C napa shredded cabbage
1/2C shredded carrot
1/2C sliced green onions
1/3C sliced radishes
1/4C chopped peanuts (optional)
1/4C chopped fresh cilantro (optional)
1/4C rice vinegar

Toss ingredients in a bowl. Stir to combine. If you must know, I didn’t add the cilantro and I cut back a bit on the rice vinegar. I added a pinch of salt and pepper.

I highly recommend this recipe – you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

