Polly Wants a Whole Wheat Cracker

I ran out of crackers a few days ago and I like crackers. In fact, I NEED crackers. I was planning on trekking to the store to replenish my supply when I suddenly remembered I had a cracker recipe I had been meaning to try! Perfecto!

Question: Polly want a cracker?
Answer: Yes

Question: Polly want a whole wheat cracker?
Answer: Double Yes

Almost Whole Wheat Crackers
Source: The Food Matters Cookbook

1/4C AP flour
3/4C whole wheat flour
2T butter
2T olive oil
1tsp salt
Water

Preheat oven to 400. In a food processor, combine flour, whole wheat flour, butter, olive oil, and salt. Throw in a few cracks of fresh pepper. Pulse to combine. With food processor running, add 1/4C of cold water. Dough should form a ball, be moist but not sticky. Add a bit of flour if it is too wet. Add a bit of water if it is too dry. Sprinkle flour onto counter-top and plop dough on top (subtle Dr Seuss reference). Using a rolling pin, roll dough until it is less than 1/4″ thick. The thinner the dough, the better the cracker. Using a small cookie cutter, a sharp knife, or the top of a spice jar (like yours truly), cut some of the dough to form whatever cracker-like shapes your heart desires. Bake on parchment paper lined baking sheet for about 10-15 minutes until golden brown. Allow to cool. Eat. Store leftovers in an air-tight container.

I love the simple, plain, and rustic cracker, but I loved the recipe more when I added some additional flavor. I just tossed a few herbs, spices, seeds into the flour/olive/oil/salt mixture and let the food processor combine it all. Alternatively, you could probably a mix of spices/seasonings on the crackers right before baking as though they are ‘toppings.’ The choice, my friends, is yours.

A few suggestions to add to the dough if your crackers need jazzing up:
1. Sesame Seeds or Poppy Seeds
2. Dried rosemary and minced garlic
3. Garlic Salt or Minced Garlic
4. Parmesan Cheese +/- Thyme

I hope you enjoy these crackers!

Leave a Reply

