This one made me cry…

I cried over this one folks. And when I say cried, I mean mascara mess all down my cheeks cried. At first, it was admittedly the cutting of the onions that set me off. In my defense, the recipe has a lot of onions in it and I picked some really strong winners at the store. I poured myself a glass of wine when I added the wine to the soup. The tears kept rolling. At this point, I wasnt sure if I had damaged my eyes with all the onion odor or if the wine was having a weird effect on me. To calm myself, I decided to turn on some music. Of course, itunes pulls up Sarah McLachlan’s song “Angel” which only made the tears fall faster. At last the soup was done and I tasted it. Guess what? More tears, but this time tears of pure joy. This soup is restaurant quality. I garnished it with homemade sourdough bread croutons (recipe coming in a few days) and a sprinkle of grated Gruyere cheese.

French Onion Soup
Source: Tyler Florence

1 stick butter
4 large onions, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 bay leaves
2 sprigs of fresh thyme
1C red wine 
3 heaping tablespoons AP flour
2 quarts (64oz) beef broth
salt and pepper

In a large soup pot, melt butter. Add onions, garlic, bay leaves, and thyme sprigs. Season with salt and pepper. Allow these to cook together until onions have caramelized and are very soft, at least 25-30minutes. This step is important — do not rush it! Once onions have caramelized, add red wine. Bring to a boil and allow red wine to evaporate, about 10minutes. Pull out the thyme and bay leaves at this time, unless you plan to give your soup guests an extra treat. Add flour and stir. Turn the heat down to low and allow the flour taste to cook off, about 10 minutes. Stir to avoid burning the flour. Add 2 quarts beef broth. Bring the soup back to a simmer. Simmer for 10 minutes. Brace  yourself for the tears and take a taste. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with Gruyere and croutons.

Leave a Reply

