Spinach Salad with Champagne Vinaigrette

I like salads but I seriously crave salads in the summer. During the cold winter months my desire to eat a bowl full of greenery is at an all-time low. And when I say low I mean low. I decided to seize the weather on a recent hot summer day and enjoy a salad recipe I had been meaning to try. My only complaint about the recipe is that the dressing requires a few tablespoons of champagne. It’s annoying to open an entire bottle (even a mini bottle) for 2 tablespoons. What’s my solution? Invite over a friend and celebrate during the creation process. I suppose you could leave it the alcohol out, but I think the dressing would lack the ooh-la-la flavor that the champagne provides.

Strawberry Champagne Vinaigrette
Source: Annie’s Eats

1C strawberries, washed/hulled/diced
2T apple cider vinegar
2T champagne
1T sugar
pinch of salt

Combine ingredients in food processor and blend until smooth. Store in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Suggestions for Serving: Sliced Almonds, Baby Spinach, Goat/Feta Cheese, Fresh Fruit (strawberries, pears, etc)

Leave a Reply

