Hot Artichoke Dip

Once upon a time, I bought a can of artichokes because it seemed like a wise idea. I love artichokes so I threw it in my grocery basket… but… then it sat in my cupboard. And it kept sitting. And kept sitting. And kept sitting. Until one fine day, I decided enough was enough: I was going to use those artichokes. I googled. Then searched. Then went to the library. I flipped through a certain book… one created by THIS lady. Suddenly, I was food processing, cooking, and enjoying this delicious use of artichokes. Yum!

Hot Artichoke Dip
Source: The Pioneer Woman Cooks

2 14oz can artichoke hearts, drained
8oz cream cheese (1 block)
1C mayonnaise
cayenne pepper
2 green onions, chopped
1C grated parmesan cheese
dash of salt and fresh ground pepper
optional: 1 clove garlic

Preheat oven to 350.

Whip out the trusty food processor. Don’t have one? Too bad for you. I kid. Perhaps you can simply use your blender or chopping/beating/stirring skills. It’ll be ok. Just a bit chunkier.

Into the food processor add 1 can drained hearts, cream cheese, mayo, a dash of cayenne pepper, a dash of salt, and a crack of pepper. Process into smithereens. I added 1 clove of garlic because I think garlic makes everything better. Add in the other can of artichoke hearts, chopped green onions, and grated parmesan cheese. Pulse a few times — don’t overpulse it!

Bake at 350 for 15-20minutes in a glass dish or oven-safe bowl. Enjoy it with crackers, veggies, bread, or as an ice cream topping. That last one is a joke. I hope you didn’t try that. If you did, how did it taste?

This recipe is so so simple … so simple that I think it could even be jazzed up a bit. Next time I might try adding some chopped spinach.

Leave a Reply

