Yogurt-Pesto Potato Salad

Have you ever been asked the “stranded island” question? The query about what your one (and only) item would be if you were stranded on a desert island. Many people say things like a book, a cell phone, lip gloss, a pillow, suntan lotion, a best friend, etc. I hate this question because I always want to be logical, saying things like a match (fire = cooked food and warmth), a hand saw (for building a hut and/or raft), or an antibiotic. Truth is, my item should probably be a cup of fresh homemade pesto. I LOVE IT! I almost never make it a month without whipping up a batch and I couldn’t imagine being alone looking like Tom Hanks in Cast Away without a small supply of the green stuff!

Major Ummmm-Ummmm-Ummmmms!!

When I saw this recipe, I couldn’t resist running to the store for the ingredients so I could try it immediately. Not only do I love pesto (see above), but I am also a huge fan of greek yogurt (I’m not Greek) and potatoes (I’m Irish). This recipe is as good as it sounds. I like its tangy-ness and I know you will too!

Yogurt Pesto Potato Salad
Source: Food Everyday August 2011

3/4C pesto
1 1/2C greek yogurt (low-fat, plain)
3lbs small red potatoes, washed and halved/quartered (depending on size)
Salt and pepper (to taste)

Mix pesto and yogurt together. Set aside. Feel free to use store bought pesto sauce but (pretty please) be sure to use a tasty one. I don’t think jarred pesto sauce has the pizzazz and sheer wonderfulness of homemade so I strongly advise you to consider making it yourself.

Fill a large pot with water. Add washed/cut potatoes to the water. Bring water to a boil and cook until potatoes are fork tender, about 20-25 minutes. Drain potatoes in colander. Allow to cool for a few minutes (you can run under cold water if you like). Add pesto sauce and cooled potatoes in bowl and gently mix.

Leave a Reply

