Coconut Blondies

Blondie is a singer.

Blondie is also a dessert.

If I had to choose one, I would opt for the latter of the two. When I think of Blondies, I think of college. College was where I pulled my first all-nighter, where I drank my first can of beer, where I failed (literally failed) my first exam, and where I tried my first blondie. Oh the memories! When I think of my time in college, I distinctly remember the best thing Marquette University’s dining hall had to offer: dessert… and it was average at best. They did however have an okay selection of cookies and brownies making the infamous ‘freshmen 15’ an easily obtainable goal.

This recipe was gosh-darn good and oh-so-easy to throw together. You can be creative with the add-ins. I stuck with coconut because I had it in the cupboard, but you could easily throw in chocolate chips, m&m’s, butterscotch chips, nuts, or whatever else your little heart desires. Blondies are delicious – and they make pretty good singers too.

Basic Blondie Recipe
Source: Simply Recipes

1 stick butter, melted
3/4 to 1C brown sugar, packed tightly
1 egg
1tsp vanilla
1/2tsp salt
1/2tsp baking powder
1C AP flour
1/2 – 3/4C shredded coconut (I used sweetened because its what I could find)

Preheat oven to 350. Line an 8x8in pan with parchment paper. Spray lightly with cooking spray. In a bowl, combine melted butter and brown sugar. Mix until smooth. Add egg and vanilla. In separate bowl, combine salt, baking powder, and flour. Add flour mixture to wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Stir in shredded coconut. Note: If you hate coconut, don’t add it. Try chocolate chips… or butterscotch chips … or nothing. Bake at 350 for 25-30minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool and cut into bars. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

