Mango Quinoa Salad

I’m on a quinoa-kick lately… if there is such a thing. It only takes 10 minutes to cook. It tastes so bland it can’t possibly be disliked or hated, and it can be mixed/stirred/gussied up to create some pretty amazing eats. The only drawback is the price, but I say its worth the investment because its GOOD FOR YOU.

I made this quick salad a few days ago and I’m still enjoying the leftovers. It’s definetly one of those dishes that gets better with age. The original chef recommends serving with it with grilled chicken and fish. I didn’t try that so I can’t officially comment, but I imagine that to be a very good idea. I also can’t comment on the mango in this recipe because

a. i forgot to buy a mango at the store
b. i am not a huge fan of mango

… so I used pineapple in place of the mango. It was amazing. If your a mango-lover, use mango. If your a pineapple-lover, use pineapple. If you hate fruit, leave it out. If you hate quinoa, pineapple, cilantro, and red bell pepper, consider a different recipe.

Mango Quinoa Salad
Recipe Courtesy of: The Biggest Loser, Our Best Bites

2C cooked quinoa (I used regular)
1 14oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2-3/4C pineapple diced OR 1 mango diced
1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
4 green onions, sliced thinly
handful of cilantro, chopped finely (about 1/2C)**
2T red wine vinegar
1T EVOO
1T lime juice (fresh squeezed)
salt
pepper

In a bowl, combine quinoa, black beans, pineapple/mango, pepper, green onions, and cilantro. In separate bowl, whisk together red wine vinegar, olive oil, lime juice, a pinch of salt, and a dash of pepper. Add dressing to salad and mix to combine. Taste to adjust seasoning. Refrigerate for 2-3hrs before serving.

**I thought the recipe had too much cilantro for my tastes. Next time I would use a few Tablespoons instead of the 1/2C that the original recipe recommends.

Leave a Reply

