Reasons to Refrigerate Milk

If putting your milk in the pantry and your cereal box in the fridge this morning is a problem, then I’m guilty in a big way.

If putting your milk in the pantry and your cereal box in the fridge three times in two weeks is a problem, then I’m really guilty.

If consciously thinking about not putting your milk in the pantry and not putting your cereal box in the fridge this morning and then somehow doing it anyway is a problem, then I’m ultra, super-duper guilty.

Would someone please explain why this keeps happening to me?

My milk expenses have gone up exponentially. I wish I could say refrigerating your cereal makes for a fresher taste, but coming home to the smell of freshly soured milk each night is really the only outcome of this scenario. Gross. Gross. Gross.

I’m not sure if I’ve finally crossed the line that divides too-too busy and tolerable-ok busy, or if I need to stop hitting the snooze button in the morning because I need that 5 extra minutes to get ready, or if I’m losing my mind, one gallon of milk at a time.

I went to the grocery store today after work. I didn’t buy milk. Milk and I are on a bit of break.

So what did I do with my last cup of milk? the last cup I used before I soured the remaining 1/2 gallon in my pantry this morning?

I made this amazingly, scrumptious dish.

Be like me: Make this dish.

Don’t be like me: Put your milk in the fridge, not the pantry.

Spinach and Cheese Quinoa Casserole
Source: Eat Live Run 
Printable Recipe

1 1/2C quinoa (uncooked)
3C broth (vegetable or chicken)
1 red bell pepper, diced
3 green onions, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2box frozen spinach, defrosted and squeezed dry
1/2tsp dry mustard (or a squeeze of Dijon works too)
pepper
olive oil
1C milk
1 1/2C shredded cheddar cheese
1C panko bread crumbs
1/2C shredded mozzarella

Preheat oven to 375. Spray a 9X13 dish lightly with no-stick spray.

In a pot, saute red pepper and green onions in a bit of olive oil until soft, about 3-4 minutes. Toss in a bit of salt (optional), pepper, and dry mustard. Add garlic and spinach. Heat for 30 seconds, until garlic is fragrant. Add broth and dry quinoa. Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer. Cover and cook until liquid evaporated, about 15-20 minutes. Remove from heat. Stir in milk and cheddar cheese.

Pour mixture into prepped 9×13. In a separate bowl, combine panko and shredded mozzarella. Top quinoa mixture with panko mixture. Cook for 30 minutes, until golden. Serve. Enjoy (and trust me, you will)

Leave a Reply

