Fig (Newton Avenue) Bars

I spent the majority of my childhood years living on a street named “Newton Avenue.”  It was a wonderful place to grow up complete with small trees, nice houses, lots of kids, streets that we would race up and down on our feet/bikes/rollerblades, a grumpy old guy who yelled at you when you walked on his grass, a park down the street, sidewalks to chalk, etc – I have mostly good memories of my time spent there. However,  whenever I stated my street address as a kid, I distinctly remember the most common remark.

“Haha. You live on Fig Newton Avenue!” The response was always the same.

I guess I was supposed to be offended or embarrassed or hurt. I wasn’t any of those things.

I didn’t care. I loved fig newtons; I still love fig newtons. And I loved Newton Avenue. Nice try, wannabe bully.

Fig Bars (vegan)
Source: Fat Free Vegan Kitchen
Printable Recipe

8oz dried figs (1 round package worth)
4oz pitted dates
2T chopped or slivered almonds
1T agave
2T water
1T lemon juice
1/2tsp cinnamon
1C oat flour (or 1C regular oats ground until fine in food processor)
1C regular old-fashioned oats
1tsp baking powder
1/4tsp salt
1/2C unsweetened applesauce
3T agave
1/4C water

Preheat the oven to 375. If you are like me and prefer to only wash your food processor once when making a recipe, start with the crust (especially if you are pulsing your oats to make oat flour)! The date/fig mixture is very sticky – i.e. it takes some serious muscle power, dish soap and scrubbing to return the food processor to a clean state.

For the filling: Remove fig stems. Place figs, dates, and almonds into a food processor. Pulse until it forms a smooth paste. Add agave, 2T water, lemon juice, and cinnamon. Continue to pulse/process until you achieve a paste (i.e. chunk-free).

For the crust: oat flour, oats, baking powder, and salt. Stir in apple sauce, agave, water just until combined. Mixture will be thick. Press 1/2 of mixture into a 8×8 square pan that has been sprayed with no-stick spray. Spread the fig mixture evenly over crust. Sprinkle/dot the fig mixture with the remaining crust mixture.

Bake at 375 for 30 minutes until lightly browned. Cool. Cut into bars. Store in the refrigerator.

Optional: You could frost/ice these with a powdered sugar/water mixture for a little extra sweetness and pizzaz. I liked mine them better without icing.

Leave a Reply

