Competitive Pumpkin Growing, Also Whoopie Pies

I don’t have a bucket list and I probably will never spend the time to sit down and dream up a realistic list of life goals. I do however have an all-inclusive ‘in-my-brain bucket list.’ It is chock-full of semi-realistic, partially-realistic, realistically-unrealistic, and completely-unrealistic goals.

Think huge pumpkins. I’m not talking about 30lb or 40lb pumpkins. I’m talking about award-winning, freakishly large pumpkins. The kind of pumpkins that scare gourds and normal sized pumpkins into submission.

I would love to grow a gargantuan pumpkin. Why? I don’t know. I guess just the thought of trying to cultivate a pumpkin that weighs over a thousand pounds sounds intriguing.

Exactly how does one go about doing such a thing? I have no idea.

How do you get interested in competitive pumpkin farming? I don’t know that either.

All I know is that if I ever see a wayward baby pumpkin that appears to have potential to be the next “world’s biggest” start growing leaps and bounds in my garden, I may have to tear down a neighbor’s fence, set up a 24/7 rabbit-watching post, and hire a security guard so I too can take a picture holding a blue ribbon and standing next to an alien-esque pumpkin. Also, I will need to buy some overalls because in my ‘in-my-brain bucket list’, I am wearing some pretty classy overalls paired with a flannel shirt in the picture on the front page of the Sunday newspaper.

Pumpkin Whoopie PiesĀ 

1 stick butter, room temp
1C packed light brown sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1C canned pumpkin puree (not pie filling)
1T pumpkin pie spice
1tsp vanilla
1tsp baking powder
1tsp baking soda
3/4tsp salt
1 2/3C AP flour

Filling:
4T or 1/2stick butter, room temp
4oz cream cheese, room temp
1C powdered sugar
pinch of salt
1/2tsp vanilla extract
1/2tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a bowl, combine butter and brown sugar, stirring until smooth. Add eggs, pumpkin, and pumpkin pie spice. Stir until combined. Add vanilla, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Stir to combine. Fold in flour, stirring until ingredients are just barely combined. Less stirring is more stirring when it comes to whoopie pie making. We are not going for whoopsie pies here…

Drop tablespoons of batter onto lined baking sheet. Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes, until cooked through and ‘springy’ to the touch. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

While the cookies are cooling, make the icing. Using a mixer, cream butter and cream cheese. Add powdered sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, and a pinch of salt. Beat until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

If you are serving your cookies to someone extremely important (think your mother-in-law who happens to be Nancy Pelosi or Martha Stewart), you may want to put frosting into a piping bag. On the flat surface of one pumpkin cookie, pipe a good amount of frosting. Place an additional cookie on top, forming a sandwich. This is not rocket science, but it takes too long for me to try to explain. Use common sense. C’mon…

If you are serving your cookies to someone less important, a good spoon or trusty knife will work just as well. Plop frosting on a cookie. Throw another cookie on top. Whallah!

Please Enjoy! And if you know anything about gigantic pumpkin growing, please email me.

Leave a Reply

